In Florida, all motor vessels, documented vessels included, operated on state
waters must be numbered and titled in Florida, except those used exclusively on private
lakes. A non-resident vessel which is already registered by another state can be operated
in Florida waters for 90 days before Florida registration is required.
Florida statutes 327 and 328 regulate the administration and enforcement
of vessel registration and titling laws, as well as boating safety.
When Is The Time Period For Registration Of My Boat?
Registration carries with it the payment of a fee, and the issuance of a Florida
registration number and decal that must be affixed to the vessel. Fees are based on
the length of the vessel with the exception of canoes and non-motorized vessels less than
12 feet in length.
When Must A Canoe Be Registered?
Pursuant to section 327.25(1) Florida Statute, only canoes which are propelled by motors
must be registered.
When Must My Vessel Be Titled In The State Of Florida?
All vessels operated on the waters of Florida shall be titled pursuant to Chapter 328
Florida Statutes except federally documented vessels owned by the United States
Government, a state of political subdivisions thereof, out of state vessels which are
registered in another state and used in this state for a period of less than 90 days or an
amphibious vessel for which a title is issued by the Department of Highway Safety and
Motor Vehicles in the State of Florida.
What Must Be Done If I Have A Documented Vessel?
All federally documented vessels which are relocated to this state and are domiciled here
for greater than 90 days must obtain a Florida registration. Documented vessels are not
required to be titled in the State of Florida.
Baker County Tax Collector
32 N 5TH ST
Macclenny, FL, 32063
(904) 653-4525 Tag Office
(904) 259-6004 Driver
Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.
Last working day of the month 8:30 a.m. until 6:00 p.m..
Drivers Licenses - Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m.until 4:45 p.m.